ford 6.2 firing order diagram

Ford 6.2 Firing Order [Cylinder Numbers & Diagram]

Finding the right firing order for your Ford 6.2L engine is crucial for smooth performance and avoiding engine damage.

As an experienced mechanic, I know how confusing firing orders can be when staring at a complex engine.

This article will provide a clear, step-by-step guide to finding the proper firing order on Ford’s popular 6.2L V8 engine so you can get your vehicle running properly.

I’ve also included a diagram and cylinder numbers table so you can reference the firing order at any time.

Let’s get into it!

Ford 6.2 Engine Overview

First introduced in 2010 for Ford’s F-150, F-250 and F-350 superduty pickup trucks, the Ford 6.2L V8 engine packs a powerful punch.

Also known as the ‘Boss’ engine, this naturally aspirated 6.2 liter workhorse is revered for its rugged reliability and ample performance.

With a displacement of 378 cubic inches and a compression ratio of 9.8:1,

the Boss churns out 385-411 horsepower and 405-434 lb-ft of torque depending on the model.

The cylinder heads are constructed from aluminum alloy, while the block itself is durable cast iron.

Additional key specifications include a 4.015 inch (102 mm) bore and 3.74 inch (95 mm) stroke, culminating in a total displacement of 6.2 liters.

It utilizes a coil-on-plug ignition system with a spark plug gap of 0.041–0.047 inches (1.04–1.2 mm).

Built for demanding workloads and discerning drivers, the 6.2L Boss engine delivers the right mix of power, efficiency and reliability.

Its impressive performance credentials have made it a highly regarded option for Ford’s pickup truck line.

Ford 6.2 Firing Order

Now let’s look at the correct firing order for the 6.2 liter Ford Boss engine.

In short, the firing order of the Ford 6.2 engine is 1, 5,4,8,6,3,7,2, which simply means the first cylinder that fires is 1 followed by cylinder 5, then 4 and so on until the last cylinder which is 2.

The complete firing order is:

  1. Cylinder 1
  2. Cylinder 5
  3. Cylinder 4
  4. Cylinder 8
  5. Cylinder 6
  6. Cylinder 3
  7. Cylinder 7
  8. Cylinder 2

The unique sequence is engineered specifically for this engine’s design and layout.

Importance of Firing Order on a Ford 6.2 Engine

There are a couple of reasons why firing orders are so crucial, here are some of them:

Engine performance

The correct 1-5-4-8-6-3-7-2 firing sequence provides smooth, seamless combustion and allows the engine to produce optimal power and torque across the RPM range.

An improper order can result in drops in horsepower and torque.

Catching misfires

The proper firing order makes it easier to isolate and identify any misfiring cylinders for quicker diagnosis.


Having the correct order ensures proper timing when tuning or modifying the engine for more performance.

Engine longevity

Following the proper order reduces strain on key components like pistons, valves, crankshaft, and camshaft as combustion events happen in the designed sequence. This prevents premature wear over time.

Fuel efficiency

Properly timed ignition leads to more complete combustion and less wasted fuel. This helps maximize fuel economy.

Engine sound

The smooth power delivery and ignition timing gives the 6.2L its characteristic throaty, muscular exhaust note. An incorrect order may introduce unpleasant vibrations.


Sticking to the factory-designed firing sequence avoids misfires, detonation, strange noises, and other issues that can occur if cylinders fire out of order. This improves reliability.

Reducing vibrations

Following the right sequence minimizes uneven power pulses that can introduce unwanted vibrations throughout the drivetrain.

Ford 6.2L Firing Order Diagram
ford 6.2 firing order diagram

Ford 6.2 Cylinder Numbers

Like all V8 engines, it has two rows of cylinders in a V configuration.

To understand the cylinder numbering, it’s crucial to know which side is considered the passenger’s side and which is the driver’s side,

Especially when referring to vehicles in countries with different driving orientations.

For this explanation, I’ll refer to the U.S. orientation, where the driver’s side is on the left when sitting in the vehicle and looking forward.

The cylinder numbering for the Ford 6.2L Boss V8 engine, based on the common convention for many Ford V8 engines, is as follows:

(Front of Vehicle)

5 1

6 2

7 3

8 4

(Rear of Vehicle)

Passenger’s Side (Right side when looking from the front of the vehicle)

  • Front-most cylinder: Cylinder #1
  • Next: Cylinder #2
  • Next: Cylinder #3
  • Rear-most cylinder: Cylinder #4

Driver’s Side (Left side when looking from the front of the vehicle)

  • Front-most cylinder: Cylinder #5
  • Next: Cylinder #6
  • Next: Cylinder #7
  • Rear-most cylinder: Cylinder #8

6.2L Ford Engine Firing Order Table

Cylinder Number Firing Order
1 1
2 5
3 4
4 8
5 6
6 3
7 7
8 2

Additional Sources

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *